Cheesy Biscuits with Chives

biscuits fresh from the oven

biscuits fresh from the oven

Biscuits are such a nice treat for breakfast – warm, buttery, and they taste great plain or with jam, gravy, or an egg on top! There are a lot of good looking recipes out there, so I’m going to test a bunch of them – it’ll be good practice for me plus I’ll see which ones are keepers.

For my first try at making biscuits, I went with this cheesy chive biscuit recipe from A Cozy Kitchen. The only thing I added was a bit of crushed red pepper flakes. A little zip of flavor sounded like it would go well with the cheddar and chives.

chives, cheddar cheese, and red pepper flakes

chives, cheddar cheese, and red pepper flakes

These were really simple to put together. I needed a little more buttermilk to get my dough to hold together, but all-in-all very easy. You don’t even need to roll out the dough – just press it out with your hands. I loved that part! If you have a biscuit cutter, great, but if not… a stemless red wine glass works really well, too.

cutting out the biscuits

cutting out the biscuits

Was anyone else a fan of Raffi? I was singing his “Biscuits in the Oven” song while baking these: biscuits in the oven gonna watch ’em rise, biscuits in the oven gonna watch ’em rise, biscuits in the oven gonna watch ’em rise – right before my very own eyes.

cheesy chive biscuits (with red pepper flakes)

cheesy chive biscuits (with red pepper flakes)

These tasted pretty delicious, and the addition of red pepper flakes was nice. I may try reducing the amount of butter next time, but then again, they didn’t get as nice and fluffy as I expected, so maybe I overworked the dough. A few things to work on next time I make biscuits. Practice makes perfect.

Do you have any biscuit recipe suggestions?

2 thoughts on “Cheesy Biscuits with Chives

  1. mgjeltes@gmail.com

    Hi –

    Your biscuits sound and look yummy.

    Hope you enjoyed your weekend at Ridgeside with your brother.

    Talk to you soon.

    Ma

    Sent from Windows Mail

    Reply

Leave a Reply

