Bird Sightings

IMG_2129

On a recent warm and beautiful Saturday (in between all of the very cold and cloudy days we’ve had), I went out to play with the zoom lens on my camera to photograph some birds. It seemed like the perfect day to spend outside watching nature (plus the leaves are bare this time of year), and all the birds appreciated the break in the dreary weather as much as I did.

There were tons of bluebirds out-and-about snacking on bugs, and I tried to walk very quietly and sneakily, as not to scare them all away. I also found a few “new-to-me” birds that I hadn’t noticed in Afton before.

I either need to be sneakier and get a little closer, or I need a lens with even more zoom to get really good close-ups of birds. Nevertheless, here’s the best of my efforts.

One of the many bluebirds (I counted about 8 at one time in the meadow):

IMG_2844

And here is a new bird I spotted. This one is a golden crowned kinglet. Very tiny, and it hopped around the tree quickly:

IMG_2880

A handsome mockingbird:

IMG_2977

Another new bird (to me) was this field sparrow. Probably because I don’t have great vision, I usually can’t identify specific sparrows. Thanks to the camera, I could zoom in, capture the details, and take time to consult my bird book. Based on his beak color and the colors around his eye and on his crown, he’s a field sparrow.

IMG_2851

Lastly, the red bellied woodpecker. I always know when he’s around (which is often) because his loud “cha cha cha” call gives him away as he moves from tree to tree, branch to branch.

IMG_2865

Before we know it, spring will be here, and all the birds will start scouting out their houses and nest sites again. I can’t wait!

IMG_2813

Leave a Reply

