Knit Pillows Inspired by Nature

I just finished knitting a few accent pillows: one green and one purple, both inspired by nature.

IMG_3721

 

Moss Pillow

IMG_4566

For the smaller 12″ x 12″ green pillow, I highlighted the yarn’s mossy tones with garter stitch on one side. It seemed to really mimic the bumpy texture of moss.

IMG_3846

For the other side, I actually used the moss stitch (knit, purl, knit, purl for one row and purl, knit, purl, knit for the following row), but oddly, I don’t think it looks as mossy as the garter side. I really love the garter stitch and this yarn together. It’s perfect.

IMG_3844

 

Lavender Pillow

IMG_3724

I used a handspun wool (spun by super talented Mom) for the larger  14″ x 14″ pillow. The beautiful purple yarn reminds me of soft lavender with gray and blue hues mixed in.

IMG_3852

One side is a basic rib, and the other is a simple stockinette stitch. Since the color variation in the yarn is so pretty, it didn’t need a fancy pattern.

IMG_3847

 

Assembly

IMG_3671

After I finished knitting the squares, I pinned them together (wrong sides facing) around the pillow form and began hand sewing the seams.

IMG_3679

IMG_3688

Done! Two pretty accent pillows to use while relaxing in a rocking chair, sipping a cup of tea.

IMG_3690

Leave a Reply

