Homemade Hand Salve

hand salve 4

This fall was awfully cold and this winter’s chilly temperatures won’t be letting up anytime soon. With the cold weather comes dry skin, but this year I’ve made some homemade hand salve. In the past I’ve tried all kinds of lotions and creams for my hands but nothing worked as well as Badger’s Badger Balm for Hardworking Hands. It contains simple ingredients, so I thought I’d try making some salve myself to save money, and I also thought it would be super fun.

I bought some bulk 2 oz. tins, a large container of olive oil, and some pastille beeswax (it melts easier than shaving or chopping it from a block yourself). I already had a few essential oils to experiment with, but I picked up a couple extra, bringing my complete collection to tea tree, lavender, rose, cedarwood, rosemary, and peppermint.

hand salve 1

To make the hand salve, simply melt the beeswax along with the olive oil and shea butter in a double boiler, stirring to combine. I bought a spoon and bowl for the sole purpose of making items like this – don’t use these tools for food preparation after you’ve used them for cosmetic use.

Once the beeswax, olive oil, and shea butter are combined, add your essential oils and pour into your tins (or other containers). Let cool and you’re done! You can fancy them up with fun and custom labels, or just label them with a marker so you don’t forget when and what you’ve made. These should last for about 6 months.

hand salve 2

I used 1/4 cup of beeswax, 1 cup of olive oil, and 1 heaping tablespoon of shea butter. This filled four 2 oz. tins and one 1 oz. tin.

For my first batches, I made pairings of rose and lavender, cedarwood and peppermint, and lavender and rosemary. You can try all sorts of combinations and also add Vitamin E oil or other things like honey, cocoa butter, etc. There are lots of tutorials online, so search around for other recipes and try using more or less beeswax if you’d like a thicker or thinner consistency.

Did I mention these make great gifts? Many friends and family members got a tin for the holidays, so I had to wait on publishing this blog post – didn’t want to give away any secrets!

hand salve 3

The hand salve is great for your hands, of course, but it’s also nice for dry elbows and feet. Enjoy and stay warm.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Hand Salve

Leave a Reply

